Internet Archive – Check It Out

Does The Internet Archive equal a peer-to-peer site? Not sure. Do I care? Not really.

I’m sitting in my living room after spending the past two hours searching for vintage video and antique books. The Internet Archive is a collection of public domain video, audio, and written materials. Not only has millions of people uploaded materials to this site, companies such as Microsoft and Google post their digital library material here.

The archive also contains the Prelinger Archives, archives from a multitude of world wide universities, and the Grateful Dead audio archives.

Part of my class assignment (for the formerly blue haired Desmond Crisis) is to write about how I would utilize a peer-to-peer network in my future work.

For me, the Internet Archive is perfect. I love classic television and radio. And the books they have are pretty amazing. I love being able to find scans of first editions of Uncle Tom’s Cabin among them. The only drawback to the books is their rather low image resolution.

If I were to start an internet series or a site dedicated to classic television, I would archive the video with the Internet Archive and point viewers to them so they can have copies of complete episodes. This way I would be able to post clips of more series to my site, which would allow more content for the same amount of space needed for only a handful of full videos.

And viewers would then be able to post clips to my site and link them to full videos on the Archive.

The Internet Archive is a wonderful resource. And I love that it’s office is in the Presidio (part of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area) in San Francisco.

